Captain America: Civil War 3D

This is the big one, probably the most anticipated film of the year. This is the start of phase 3 of Marvel and it is bringing in yet more characters! The thing I loved most about this film was the reaction from the fans. Before it was even released the biggest marketing used on social media was the hashtags #TeamCap or #TeamIronMan and it took over Twitter.

Twitter

 

#TeamCap & #TeamIronMan

As I have previously mentioned in my Batman v Superman blog I was Team Cap hands down.

“With Marvel they started with phase one – the independent character films where you see the start of the story arc and get the character’s backstories.  This then developed into phase two where more characters are brought in, like Black Widow into Iron Man 2, and then you hit phase three, Civil War (literally in Captain America). Where the sides are chosen. By this part in the franchise we know the characters and you have already chosen sides. I already know I am Team Cap but in all honesty I didn’t care about who “won” in Batman v Superman, as it wasn’t set up in same way as I hadn’t made the connection with the characters.”

It wasn’t because I don’t like Iron Man its just that they are so different in their beliefs. Cap is the gentleman of the group and Iron Man is just more cocky and personally I prefer the protector over the ego.

As soon as I got into the cinema you could see the battle lines being drawn, people in Captain American t-shirts and Iron Man t-shirts. I took the fence option of a plain Marvel hoodie. It was great to see the fans coming out and proudly choosing their sides.

Marvel Me 

The supporting cast are amazing and deserve as much recognition as the two main characters! The introduction of Spiderman and Black Panther, and they bringing together of outside characters like Ant Man. Even though they had limited screen time they had some great one liners!

These are some of my favourites:

Spider-Man: You have a metal arm? That is AWESOME, dude!”

Spider-Man: Hey guys, you ever see that really old movie, Empire Strikes Back?

Lieutenant James Rhodes: Jesus Tony, how old is this guy?

Tony Stark: I don’t know, I didn’t carbon date him. He’s on the young side.”

Tony Stark: Ever been to Germany?

Spider-Man: I can’t go to Germany!

Tony Stark: Why not?

Spider-Man: Because I have homework”

Spider-Man: Hey, everyone.

Tony Stark: Yeah, we don’t really need to – start a conversation.

Spider-Man: [salutes] Oh, Captain – big fan!”

Natasha Romanoff: Are we still friends?

Clint Barton: That depends on how hard you hit me.”

Steve Rogers: Did he tell you what we’re up against?

Scott Lang: Something about some… psycho assassins.

Steve Rogers: We’re outside the law on this one. So if you come with us, you’re a wanted man.

Scott Lang: Yeah well, what else is new?”

 

Trust me I could go on and one!

I also loved the storyline and the way they brought together all the characters but I admit I had a couple of reservations about the film. The first was it being in 3D. A lot of films these days are in 3D and you watch it and there is no need for it and adds nothing to the story. In the film industry it has now become a bit of a gimmick. Walter Murch summed it up very well back in 2011 in an open letter to Roger Ebert.

“So: dark, small, stroby, headache inducing, alienating. And expensive. The question is: how long will it take people to realize and get fed up?” (Murch, 2011)

Emily Cannings takes it one step further.

“The gimmick of 3D is destroying the film industry… the obsession with the visual deters film-makers from the complex plots and intriguing characters that make film great.” (Cannings, 2012)

The last film I saw in 3D was Batman v Superman was a prime example. There was no story because they thought it could stand up visually on its own. That why I was nervous but there was no need. The way 3D was used here worked so well with the fight scenes because the great pyrotechnics aren’t only just great visually they make you move in your seat! 3D works for me when I feel like I have to move out of the way of thing being thrown at you.

The other thing I was nervous about was the interjection of Spiderman. I love the character but was unsure about Tom Holland taking over the role from Andrew Garfield. Considering Garfield is in his 30s and Holland is 19 I thought it might be a bit of a jump for people who don’t follow the comics.

The thing you have to remember with Marvel films is that you have two types of fan, you have the die-hard comic book fans and then the people who have only seen the films. For the die-hard fans they would probably love the idea of returning to the original younger Peter Parker whereas the people that don’t follow the comics might be confused a bit. I enjoyed the character when he was in costume but I couldn’t take him seriously he reminded me of Daryl Sabara from Spy Kids.

                          (Elfring, 2015)                                    (Spy Kids 3D Game Over, 2003) 

But that happens to everyone at some point so I reserve my full judgment for Spiderman: Homecoming in 2017.

I give this film a bit of a random score of 4 and ¾ out of 5, but hear me out there is method in my madness. I wanted to give 5 out of 5 but one thing that bugged me throughout the entire movie and even when I got home.

*SPOILER ALERT*

Spiderman is found by Iron Man but it is never explained how!  

Tony Stark: So, you’re the Spiderling. Crime-fighting Spider. You’re Spider-Boy?

Spider-Man: S-Spider-Man.

Tony Stark: Not in that onesie, you’re not.

Spider-Man: It’s not a onesie.”

(Russo, 2016)

This is a personal bug bare when you just have to figure things out. Luckily in my research I found this article which included an interview from co-writer Christopher Markus.

“I think he’s been keeping tabs. I think he might know about everybody. Tony has A.I. somewhere running crime statistics. He can see where it’s going up and heroes might be needed and where it’s going down and there might be heroes. It’s why he built Ultron in the first place.”  (Schwerdtfeger, 2016)

I admit that this does make sense knowing the character but for the fans that don’t follow the comics this can get missed and seen as an error even though its not really. Maybe I am just being picky but I stand by my score.

film-reelfilm-reelfilm-reelfilm-reelfilm-reel 3-4

Works Cited

Cannings, E. (2012, August 29). The Death of Hollywood, in Glorious 3D. Retrieved from Daily Telegraph: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/9506983/The-death-of-Hollywood-in-glorious-3D.html

Elfring, M. ‘. (2015, June 23). Marvel Announces Tom Holland Will Play Spider-Man, Jon Watts to Direct. Retrieved from Comic Vine: http://comicvine.gamespot.com/articles/marvel-announces-tom-holland-will-play-spider-man-/1100-152687/

Murch, W. (2011, January 23). WHY 3D DOESN’T WORK AND NEVER WILL. CASE CLOSED. Retrieved from Roger Ebert: http://www.rogerebert.com/rogers-journal/why-3d-doesnt-work-and-never-will-case-closed

Russo, A. a. (Director). (2016). Captain America: Civil War [Motion Picture].

Schwerdtfeger, C. (2016, May 7). This Is How Iron Man Knew About Spider-Man In Civil War. Retrieved from Cinema Blend: http://www.cinemablend.com/new/How-Iron-Man-Knew-About-Spider-Man-Civil-War-129587.html

Spy Kids 3D Game Over. (2003). Retrieved from Miramax: http://www.miramax.com/watch?v=x0YWduYToTzvcgqFTE79zzWOvh2p8Jcd

Director: Joe RussoAnthony Russo

Cast: Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr, Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Chadwick Boseman, Tom Holland

Crew: Kevin Feige (producer)

Genre: Superheroes, Action

Rating: 15

Leave a comment